12X12: Meet 12 Artists From the 12th State

12X12: 12 Artists from the 12th State presents North Carolina artists who were selected by jury and represent a diversity of artistic practices and cultural backgrounds. The artists are Elizabeth Alexander, Endia Beal, Martha Clippinger, Bill Fick, Mijoo Kim, Beverly McIver, Katy Mixon, Kirsten Stolle, Bob Trotman, Hong-An Truong, Lee Walton, and Pinar Yoldas.

12×12 is on display through April 22, 2018.

With a history of excellence and leadership in identifying and exhibiting artists of the Southeast, and of presenting their work alongside national and international artists, SECCA gives national exposure and recognition to artists in the region and continues its mission to support the arts in its home state and reflect the mission of its home city of Winston-Salem, N.C. – The City of Arts and Innovation.

Through the 12X12 series, SECCA strives to recognize the achievements of contemporary artists, as they have done in the past with the Southeast Seven and the Awards in the Visual Arts (AVA). The Southeast Seven were Southeastern Artists Fellowships sponsored by the National Endowment for the Arts and SECCA from 1976 to 1989. The Artists in the Visual Arts Awards (AVA), conceived by SECCA and supported by the NEA and Rockefeller Foundation, began in 1982 and continued through 1992. This award was a national fellowship for American visual artists.


Huge thanks to Stephen Charles for this post’s featured image!