Football in Winston-Salem

What's fall without college football? As the temperatures cool off, the gridiron heats up as fans fill BB&T Field and Bowman Gray Stadium to see their favorite teams go helmet to helmet.  Home to the Wake Forest University Demon Deacons and the Winston-Salem State University Rams, Winston-Salem showcases a football game nearly every weekend this fall and in some cases a double dose! Learn more about each team, their schedules and how to seamlessly turn Saturday's game into a tailgate weekend in Winston-Salem.


Wake Forest University Demon Deacons

Wake Forest enters another exciting season of ACC football with head coach Dave Clawson. The defending Birmingham Bowl champions start the 2019 season at home against Utah State. To learn more about Wake Forest football and post-game highlights visit WakeForestSports.com.

2019 Wake Forest University Football Schedule (home games at BB&T Field are in bold):

  • Friday, August 30 vs. Utah State; 8 p.m.
  • Friday, September 6 at Rice; 8 p.m.
  • Friday, September 13 vs. North Carolina (UNC Chapel Hill); 6 p.m.
  • Saturday, September 21 vs. Elon (Homecoming); Time TBA
  • Saturday, September 28 at Boston College; Time TBA
  • Saturday, October 12 vs. Louisville; Time TBA
  • Saturday, October 19 vs. Florida State; Time TBA
  • Saturday, November 2 vs. NC State; Time TBA
  • Saturday, November 9 at Virginia Tech; Time TBA
  • Saturday, November 16 at Clemson; Time TBA
  • Saturday, November 23 vs. Duke; Time TBA
  • Saturday, November 30 at Syracuse; Time TBA

 


Winston-Salem State University Rams

The Winston-Salem State University (WSSU) Rams kick off their CIAA / NCAA Division II 2019 football season under the leadership of interim head coach, Robert Massey. See below for the full schedule and be sure to arrive early for tailgating!

2019 Winston-Salem State University Rams (home games in bold are at Bowman Gray Stadium):

  • Thursday, September 5 at UNC Pembroke; 7 p.m.
  • Saturday, September 14 vs. Catawba; 6 p.m.
  • Saturday, September 21 at Tuskegee; 1 p.m.
  • Saturday, September 28 at Virginia Union; 6 p.m.
  • Saturday, October 5 vs. Bowie State; 2 p.m.
  • Saturday, October 12 vs. Johnson C. Smith; 1:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, October 19 at St. Augustine's; 1:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, October 26 at Livingstone; 1:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, November 2 vs. Shaw; 1:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, November 9 vs. Fayetteville State; 2 p.m.

For more information on this year's Rams football team and post-game highlights visit www.WSSURams.com.


Turn Game Day into an Overnight Getaway to Winston-Salem! 

Winston-Salem offers great seasonal getaway packages this fall. Check them out here.

For a complete listing of more than 50 hotel properties, click here

To book with a hotel of your choice, click here.